Web 2.0 tool that I use for this blog: WordPress

With my ability to program PHP and SQL, I could very easily have created my own blog on my own domain (www.pendalhaven.com) However, why should I reinvent the wheel? Just to show that I can? Many people have this ability, so what makes me so special that I should go through all that trouble? Nothing.

Why WordPress?


WordPress is a very successful Content Management System that is available for free over the internet. It has many capabilities and features that while I could design my own for exercise of my programming skills, would take me far too long to actually construct, troubleshoot, and implement.

Feature Set


Some of those features are the widgets, or small modules that offer many extended capabilities through plugins, of which WordPress has a database of over 18,000 for their clients to choose from. I have noticed that many of my classmates that use the same WordPress tool that I do, have availed themselves to some of those plugins and widgets, as exhibited by their side-bar content.

The built in themes with their ability to be customized help those that either don’t have the time or inclination to construct one out of sheer cloth. This feature also allows those who wish to show off their abilities by posting themes for others to use as well.

Another good feature about WordPress, is that it is available as either a hosted blog community or you can download it and install to your own server for more control. Depending on what you’re looking to do with a blog, WordPress is a good tool to use. If you just need a way to voice your opinions about the world, or have a very specific and defined purpose to your blog, WordPress is very adaptable, allowing you to mold the look to suit your task.

My Preferences


For myself, I prefer a cleaner, more simple look and function with my blog, so I do not use many, if any, of the widgets for WordPress, though I did take one of their available themes and customized it for myself. As for the obvious evidence of my use of WordPress….. You’re here aren’t you?